Pontiac Grand Prix Forums : Grandprix
 

Grand Prix Forums is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Pontiac Grand Prix Forum - Welcome Register today! Contact us!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 44
  1. #21
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Yes. Quick and soft. Keep line pressure close to stock and decrease shift time. And use a ton of torque management during shifts. Sorry, I thought that was obvious.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  2. #22
    Donating Users coolone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,286
    Chats
    1634

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    And still doing it... Close to stock? Decrease shift time? To what? What levels are safe?

    Yes, the info is available, but you've got to dig for it. But you opened the door by suggesting to do something, then leave no info., lol

    Not everyone who comes seeking info has been doing this for a decade... Much information is lost anymore! Assume the question is legit and provide guidance, not just statements. Is the way things were when the site was very helpful to any who asked. I'm not sure or I would answer...
    Overkill BBC Cam, YT 1.8 RR's, Rhodes Lifters, STGII Heads, GenV, Pacesetters, 3" Exh to Tips, TEP Trans. N*, ID 75# injectors/E85 coming soon

  3. #23
    Killa Bee Scottydoggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    37,167
    Chats
    151225

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    i would just copy one of the tuned bins tranny files in the drop box.

    98 Buick Regal GS, F body brakes, Caddy STS wheels, tinted tails L36 bottom end, lightly ported heads, 1.95 roller rockers, headers, 2.8, FSIC, 42 lb injectors, a BrandonHall rebuilt trans, DHP tuned and AEM water/Meth injection https://goo.gl/gpV5kW

  4. #24
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Quote Originally Posted by coolone View Post
    And still doing it... Close to stock? Decrease shift time? To what? What levels are safe?

    Yes, the info is available, but you've got to dig for it. But you opened the door by suggesting to do something, then leave no info., lol

    Not everyone who comes seeking info has been doing this for a decade... Much information is lost anymore! Assume the question is legit and provide guidance, not just statements. Is the way things were when the site was very helpful to any who asked. I'm not sure or I would answer...
    It's going to depend on the car and how much power it makes.

    Leave shift pressure stock unless you are having problems completing the shift.

    Decrease shift timing to as low as the tuner will let you, if you'd like.

    The timing pulled between each shift is going to depend on the power the car makes and the parts inside the transmission.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  5. #25
    Turbo is the way to go. Fivefingerdeathpunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    20,478
    Chats
    80770

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Look at a tune file, for example shift times.

    If the factory shift time was .400 seconds, a little bit is .050 to .100 removed to make it around .300. Going alot would be decreasing it by half or more. Play with it too, don't take everything off the internet as the bible to go by. If you truely don't know sometimes it's a matter of trial and error but just know that error could make something go wrong. I tested crap all the time and went with it, if I didn't like it I dialed it back to where I thought something was safer.


    Same with the close to stock comment, if you looked at the shift pressure you'd know where the numbers start. It's always either a matter of preference or how the vehicle can react to the change. Going 50% higher is not close to stock but 5-15% higher is. It's not always ideal to give EXACT number or information when not every vehicle can like the same things. Past that it again comes down to play with the tune, making changes here and there to see how it goes.

    SMGPFC Member #1

  6. #26
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Bingo. No car is the same, hence why it's hard for me to post an exact table. I doubt any car I've tuned has the same tables.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  7. #27
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    36
    Chats
    302

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Some advice is better than no advice

    I just hope I don't wreck ****. I really wanted to use Overkill as a baseline, but Will just doesn't respond. It's bad when you do a web search for someone and a bunch of the results are to forums where people can't get a hold of him.

  8. #28
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    What year is your car?

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  9. #29
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    36
    Chats
    302

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fivefingerdeathpunch View Post
    Look at a tune file, for example shift times.

    If the factory shift time was .400 seconds, a little bit is .050 to .100 removed to make it around .300. Going alot would be decreasing it by half or more. Play with it too, don't take everything off the internet as the bible to go by. If you truely don't know sometimes it's a matter of trial and error but just know that error could make something go wrong. I tested crap all the time and went with it, if I didn't like it I dialed it back to where I thought something was safer.


    Same with the close to stock comment, if you looked at the shift pressure you'd know where the numbers start. It's always either a matter of preference or how the vehicle can react to the change. Going 50% higher is not close to stock but 5-15% higher is. It's not always ideal to give EXACT number or information when not every vehicle can like the same things. Past that it again comes down to play with the tune, making changes here and there to see how it goes.
    Really good info. My car doesn't have performance shift. Might the perf shift settings be available on the PCM? I read something about perf shift being the default after a certain year, but I don't know if that's true. I would think that I'd at least want the shift pressures and timings that perf shift used, but I could be wrong.

  10. #30
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    36
    Chats
    302

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Quote Originally Posted by gtppower View Post
    what year is your car?
    2002 gtp

  11. #31
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    I think I have an overkill tune saved from a 98 or 99 gtp. I can email it to you if you want to send me your email.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  12. #32
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    36
    Chats
    302

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    Quote Originally Posted by GTPpower View Post
    I think I have an overkill tune saved from a 98 or 99 gtp. I can email it to you if you want to send me your email.
    That would be AWESOME. At least then I can compare the stock year of your tune against the Overkill tune to see the differences, and see how they compare to the 02 stock tune. I'll PM you with my email address. Thank you!

  13. #33
    Killa Bee Scottydoggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    37,167
    Chats
    151225

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    you still have perf shift with out the button, pcm just puts in the perf shift mode when you beat on it.

    98 Buick Regal GS, F body brakes, Caddy STS wheels, tinted tails L36 bottom end, lightly ported heads, 1.95 roller rockers, headers, 2.8, FSIC, 42 lb injectors, a BrandonHall rebuilt trans, DHP tuned and AEM water/Meth injection https://goo.gl/gpV5kW

  14. #34
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    I don't think it does that, from what I've seen. ^^

    It may be tonight before I can get to my laptop and look for the tune to send you.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  15. #35
    Killa Bee Scottydoggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    37,167
    Chats
    151225

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    in dhp i can change its debounce and switch type, its got perf shift you just cant see it like dhp can. like i can turn it on and you wire in the switch to the pcm and now you have the button. other wise it goes into perf shift mode all on its own if your car dont have the button.

    98 Buick Regal GS, F body brakes, Caddy STS wheels, tinted tails L36 bottom end, lightly ported heads, 1.95 roller rockers, headers, 2.8, FSIC, 42 lb injectors, a BrandonHall rebuilt trans, DHP tuned and AEM water/Meth injection https://goo.gl/gpV5kW

  16. #36
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    I have dhp. I've never seen it go inot performance mode without actually wiring in the switch and making the changes in the tune.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

  17. #37
    Killa Bee Scottydoggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    37,167
    Chats
    151225

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    you wont see it go into perf shift mode, but it does.

    pretty sure if you set the perf shift folders shift rpm higher it would hit that rpm wot.

    ive set the perf shift higher in my tune but ive got a button.

    98 Buick Regal GS, F body brakes, Caddy STS wheels, tinted tails L36 bottom end, lightly ported heads, 1.95 roller rockers, headers, 2.8, FSIC, 42 lb injectors, a BrandonHall rebuilt trans, DHP tuned and AEM water/Meth injection https://goo.gl/gpV5kW

  18. #38
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    94
    Chats
    20

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    I'm 99% confident the PCM never uses the Performance Shift tables without pin 21 being grounded (i.e. the 97-00 button).
    2001 Buick Regal GS Supercharged 3.8L 231ci Pushrod 90 V6 | 4T65E-HD
    Gen V M90, 3.6/3.4/3.2/3.0/2.9" MPS, 1.9 RRs, 60lb injectors, E85, F&R Powerlogs, 3" DP, 3" stainless exhaust, Intake, 104s, 180 t-stat, Rendezvous HUD, Blacked-out headlights, Tint, F-body brakes, F&R GMPP sways, Tuned.

  19. #39
    Killa Bee Scottydoggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    37,167
    Chats
    151225

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    up the rpm and mph shifts in the perf folder, that will tell ya for sure.

    98 Buick Regal GS, F body brakes, Caddy STS wheels, tinted tails L36 bottom end, lightly ported heads, 1.95 roller rockers, headers, 2.8, FSIC, 42 lb injectors, a BrandonHall rebuilt trans, DHP tuned and AEM water/Meth injection https://goo.gl/gpV5kW

  20. #40
    GXP Level Member GTPpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Schuyler, NE
    Posts
    2,390
    Chats
    258

    Default Re: Bad to disable torque management?

    That's been my experience as well. I usually don't change the performance tables on 01+ cars.

    2001 GTP - cam, headers, nitrous, stock trans - 11.83 @ 116 <$2k in mods - sold
    2005 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, bulletproofed, tuned
    1966 Olds Cutlass 442 Convertible
    2000 Chevy Silverado 2500 6.0l

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Torque management
    By apierce1289 in forum PCM Tuning
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-02-2013, 12:43 PM
  2. Torque management What is it?
    By JoshsGTP in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 08:21 AM
  3. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 10:22 AM
  4. removing torque management
    By tjvdubsport in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-19-2009, 12:35 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 01:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •