Pontiac Grand Prix Forums : Grandprix
 

Grand Prix Forums is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Pontiac Grand Prix Forum - Welcome Register today! Contact us!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 61
  1. #41
    Donating Users Swiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Quincy, Mass
    Posts
    2,170
    Chats
    1847

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    im using a ported l67 tb on an l26 intake. with the turbo forcing air into the intake rather than the supercharger trying to suck air in, the tb doesnt need to be bigger. you can use the n*, most use an lt1 maf, im not sure why not the lq4 but it has also been used. both those mafs also have a higher frequency range so you dont need an mini afc.

    No more GP 04 Impala SS Indy:
    Gen V 3.6|FWI|N* TB lq4 MAF|1.8 Rockers|F&R Plogs|ZZP 3" Catted DP|ZZP 2.5" Catback|

  2. #42
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Quote Originally Posted by Swiggles View Post
    im using a ported l67 tb on an l26 intake. with the turbo forcing air into the intake rather than the supercharger trying to suck air in, the tb doesnt need to be bigger. you can use the n*, most use an lt1 maf, im not sure why not the lq4 but it has also been used. both those mafs also have a higher frequency range so you dont need an mini afc.
    are you going to port the upper and lower intake manifolds? supposedly the LQ4 maf will break when used with turbo's, and the LS7 maf is probably really tough to outflow

  3. #43
    Donating Users Swiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Quincy, Mass
    Posts
    2,170
    Chats
    1847

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    The upper I'm not going to port, the l67 tb is a tiny bit smaller already if I remember right and the adapter is a little smaller too. I might bite out the holes a little to line it up better. The lim I gasket matched to the heads but that's all. You'll benefit from smoothing down the channels but i had done so much other stuff that I didn't get to it.

    No more GP 04 Impala SS Indy:
    Gen V 3.6|FWI|N* TB lq4 MAF|1.8 Rockers|F&R Plogs|ZZP 3" Catted DP|ZZP 2.5" Catback|

  4. #44
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I did some digging on the internet and found this article about the cartuning turbo kit. there are pictures at the bottom of the article, and it looks to me like the kit would work with a rear power log. am I right or wrong?

    http://www.hotrod.com/how-to/engine/...ac-grand-prix/

  5. #45
    GT Level Member Ifryrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Osceola, IN
    Posts
    177
    Chats
    624

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    its the front power log's that are the most restrictive
    "America is all about hot, nasty, bad ass speed" Eleanor Roosevelt 1936

  6. #46
    Donating Users Swiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Quincy, Mass
    Posts
    2,170
    Chats
    1847

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    The car tuning kit will work with the new normal rear plog but not the turbo plog. The waste gate attaches to the stock downpipe location on the rear manifold like the z3 kit. You would have to do some fab work to relocate the waste gate in order to use the rear plog.

    Go to cartuning.ca they have clearer pictures of the kit.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

    No more GP 04 Impala SS Indy:
    Gen V 3.6|FWI|N* TB lq4 MAF|1.8 Rockers|F&R Plogs|ZZP 3" Catted DP|ZZP 2.5" Catback|

  7. #47
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I looked closer at the kit on the car tuning website and I can see that the waste gate bolts to the downpipe, and then has a pipe that goes to the crossover, it does look like the oem rear exhaust manifold is necessary, but it also looks like a flange could be built to interface between the downpipe and crossover to use the rear power log. maybe cut the flange off where the downpipe attaches to the oem rear manifold and weld a v band clamp with a short amount of piping, and a v band on the other side? worth the effort or not?




  8. #48
    Donating Users Silver2kgtp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    948
    Chats
    0

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I still have the xover, upper DP and lower DP from my CT kit. I wanted to upgrade to the rear turbo plog (new plog wasn't out yet) to open up the exhaust more since I had a rear PEM and needed to help engine breathe. That meant relocating the WG. Which BTW makes it a pain to change the rear plugs with the CT kit.

    I moved the WG to the xover right where the front plog meets the xover and made it an open dump. I then blanked up the flange going to the DP.








    http://s1292.photobucket.com/user/si...d%20Prix%20GTP
    10.99 @ 121.99 1.74 60' (Ran out of fuel : +18 AFR)NO SPRAY!!!

  9. #49
    GTX Level Member Travisgt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    leavenworth ks
    Posts
    1,755
    Chats
    4192

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Amazing thread!!!!
    04 GT2: 180 t-stat, cold air intake, reptile tune, plog, hv3, gt1 cam, 90#springs, new push rods, new lifters, port polished heads, lim, uim and tb, 06 Impala brakes and steel brake lines. Cosmetic: black roof rails, under glow, Pontiac ground light, blue hud dic radio controls and cluster. To come custom hood.

  10. #50
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    what does an open wastegate do?

  11. #51
    GXP Level Member Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    hangover park IL
    Posts
    2,595
    Chats
    909

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    it gives you another place to shove a gerbil
    ~James~ Psychotic Gearhead
    projects: 84 Cressida waGN~ 90 LN3 3800, equal length headers, T70, 89 700r4, misc parts,
    1994 Oldsmobile 442 (462ci-4wd-2 engines) L67/4t80e^2,
    00 Turbo Regal 608 fwhp 575ftlbs at 5500rpm, 98 WhippledRiv, 97 GTP

  12. #52
    Donating Users Silver2kgtp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    948
    Chats
    0

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    It helps with even flow in the exhaust and reduce turbulence

    http://s1292.photobucket.com/user/si...d%20Prix%20GTP
    10.99 @ 121.99 1.74 60' (Ran out of fuel : +18 AFR)NO SPRAY!!!

  13. #53
    Turbo is the way to go. dsmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Coldwater, OH
    Posts
    15,748
    Chats
    9183

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I'm going to run a L26 with L67 tb
    98 GTP modded 1.9's, sd headers, 3.4", zzp 1.0 230K miles scrapped.
    04 Comp G zzp stb's, UMI ta's, Speedbuilt sways, bully flo heads, XP, zzp headers, fsic, thrasher shift kit, 60#, 2.6" corsa 2.5", Inferno hood
    01 gt z7 turbo tep trans zzp motor

  14. #54
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Which turbo cam will work best with 130 lb springs. I'm not sure I'm going to change cams, currently have an xp cam, just want to hear people's opinions. The xp cam is at least better than stock for a turbo, right?

  15. #55
    GTP Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    511
    Chats
    470

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Look at the vendors recommendations...do you like asking the same question 8 different ways to get the same answer 8 times for everything?
    - 2001 Grand Prix XGT -- 11.21@124MPH
    - 2010 Chevy 2500HD LTZ -- Car hauler
    - 2011 BMW 328i Xdrive -- Wife's Daily
    - 2014 Ford F250 crew cab -- 6.2 liters of ford fail

  16. #56
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Quote Originally Posted by NebTurboST5 View Post
    Look at the vendors recommendations...do you like asking the same question 8 different ways to get the same answer 8 times for everything?
    none of the vendors suggest the 130lb springs. zzp either says 125 for the stattama stage 1 or 140/150 for the stage 4/5, and intense doesn't suggest any particular valve spring. sorry to annoy you with my questions.

  17. #57
    GTP Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    511
    Chats
    470

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Quote Originally Posted by SgtMarshal View Post
    none of the vendors suggest the 130lb springs. zzp either says 125 for the stattama stage 1 or 140/150 for the stage 4/5, and intense doesn't suggest any particular valve spring. sorry to annoy you with my questions.
    for all intensive purposes a 125# spring is basically a 130# spring. i have the crow 125# springs shimmed to 130# seat pressure in my car with an ST5 cam and dont have any issues. i do think that i am getting a little valve float over 6000RPM as my power starts to fall off so heavier springs would be a benefit. but it doesnt mean that you cant run that setup. per your own requirements you said you didnt really want more then 375 at the wheels. 375 can easily be done with your XP cam and about 14-15psi (maybe less) for instance my car made 340 on the stock cam, springs, heads, on 13psi. shouldnt be to hard to pick up another 35HP with an xp cam. no it is not the most efficient setup. i dont think that you will be able to get the same power running significantly less boost with a specific turbo cam. given your power goals i would not switch cams. if you think you want more in the future and are willing to shell out big bucks on a trans in the future then by all means get an ST5. no reason not too.

    i guess maybe i dont understand the question, you shouldnt be picking a cam based on the springs you already own if you are going for an all out setup. you have stated that you arent going for an all out setup, in that case your springs will be more then adequate to safely run any turbo cam on the market...

    if i had it to do all over again...i would pick these things in priority order...
    HOW MUCH POWER I WANTED?
    HOW MUCH LAG I COULD LIVE WITH?
    -those two questions will pick your turbo/cam for you
    -match the springs to the cam
    -match the timing chain to the springs/cam ramp rates


    none of the stattama turbo cams idle poorly
    - 2001 Grand Prix XGT -- 11.21@124MPH
    - 2010 Chevy 2500HD LTZ -- Car hauler
    - 2011 BMW 328i Xdrive -- Wife's Daily
    - 2014 Ford F250 crew cab -- 6.2 liters of ford fail

  18. #58
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Dover TN
    Posts
    26
    Chats
    0

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I really like the thread. One question- has anyone rigged up a twin turbo? That is the route I'm thinking of doing on my 2001 GPGT coupe I just was given. Any thoughts on this?

  19. #59
    Turbo is the way to go. Fivefingerdeathpunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    20,671
    Chats
    80968

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    Where the heck would you even put the other turbo?

    It's already at ultra limited space with a single turbo.

    Stick them both out the hood maybe.

    SMGPFC Member #1

  20. #60
    GrandPrix Junkie SgtMarshal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kemmerer, Wyoming
    Posts
    4,182
    Chats
    32005

    Default Re: Thinking of Going Turbo in your GP?

    I saw a rock crawler for sale once, it had a 3800 with twin turbo's. engine bay was huge, really there was no bay with defined firewall's and stuff and with that in mind, there isn't enough space in the grand prix engine bay for 2 turbo's

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. wife needs a newer car..thinking a mitsu lancer awd turbo?
    By AmericanSoldier in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 11-12-2011, 01:00 PM
  2. Thinking about adding a turbo
    By MS1227 in forum Turbo
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 04:22 PM
  3. Thinking of going turbo. Guess who?
    By TDCRacing in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-14-2008, 04:27 AM
  4. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-12-2008, 11:50 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •