Pontiac Grand Prix Forums : Grandprix
 

Grand Prix Forums is the premier Pontiac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Pontiac Grand Prix Forum - Welcome Register today! Contact us!

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    82
    Chats
    8

    Default Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    A while back, a friend and I attempted to replace my radiator. There are two metal lines going into the bottom (maybe middle) right side of the radiator as you're looking towards the rear of the vehicle. I figured those needed to be removed to get the radiator out, but found when I attempted to remove those lines, I heard a loud hiss, as if they were pressurized. So I quickly tightened the bolt that was holding that secure. Long story short, ended up taking it to a mechanic to have replaced. Fast forward a few months, and when my transmission heats up past 167 or so, I get a hard shift going into 3rd gear.

    I changed the fluid and filter, and filled to the correct level while transmission hot and engine running. I used Dex 6 as I have found that is okay for this transmission. After searching the forum I have seen a few posts about transmission coolers coming from the radiator. I'm wondering if I altered the pressure when I messed with the metal line going from the radiator to the transmission (google search told me that's where it was going to).

    I'm at a loss for what to try now...Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    I live here. stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    8,605
    Chats
    33

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    Anyone who changes the rad needs to undo those lines. You didn't hurt anything breaking the line loose.

    Your trans may just be on its way out. It happens.

    2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GT - Daily driver. ZZP 3" catted downpipe and intake
    1994 Dodge Stealth - Currently being revived. Modded

  3. #3
    SE Level Member Billycar11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    20
    Chats
    403

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    most people say the shift kit from trans go fixes that you would need to drop the pan again to do it though here is link to how to and product http://www.grandprixforums.net/threa...ailed-Pictures https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._st_dp_summary

    you can get it from amazon for like $40 not $75 like the auto link and its fixed lol guess i just need to add text after it
    Last edited by Billycar11; 02-07-2017 at 07:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Turbo is the way to go. Fivefingerdeathpunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    20,171
    Chats
    80453

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    If you're getting a P1811 code, then I'd go with a shift kit.

    Otherwise it may be a whole different internal problem.

    SMGPFC Member #1

  5. #5
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    82
    Chats
    8

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    I'll need to have the codes scanned again. Previous to this issue developing, the only codes were P0420 and P0455. I would love to fix this issue for under 50 bucks and some of my time, but I'm sure I won't be that lucky.

  6. #6
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    82
    Chats
    8

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    What is a pressure solenoid / transmission solenoid? Could that be part of my problem? Saw something on another forum regarding this and "getting the valve checked out" I guess I need to have my car scanned again.

  7. #7
    Turbo is the way to go. Fivefingerdeathpunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    20,171
    Chats
    80453

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    You'll want to wait for the car to act up again while driving it, then do not shut it off before scanning for codes. Many transmission related codes if present will go away once the key it turned off.

    A nicer scanner will be wanted to read transmission related codes, most of the cheaper scanners won't read them.

    SMGPFC Member #1

  8. #8
    SE Level Member jimzssei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    112
    Chats
    0

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    I had a hard shifting 4T65HD last spring. I never had a code. Picked up the Transgo Kit and the problem has been remedied.

  9. #9
    SE Level Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    82
    Chats
    8

    Default Re: Hard Transmission Shift 06 GP GT

    okay thank you everyone for your input and advice, much appreciated. FFDP - Do you know if the scanners that auto zone use would scan a transmission?

Similar Threads

  1. 4t65e transmission hard 1 to 2 shift.
    By RM686 in forum General Grand Prix Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-12-2015, 04:28 PM
  2. Yet another hard shift question, lol
    By blackthunder in forum 1997-2007 4 speed Automatic (4T65E) (4T65E-HD)
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 10-09-2013, 08:54 PM
  3. 0 RPM hard shift
    By Logan541 in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-17-2012, 12:41 PM
  4. hard shift
    By whitegtp in forum 1997-2007 4 speed Automatic (4T65E) (4T65E-HD)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-30-2008, 09:03 PM
  5. Why is my 1st to 2nd shift so hard?
    By Andrew_99GTP in forum PCM Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 08:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •